Home > All Posts, All things MAT, Family and Friends, NIMBYism > Taking supplements to cure addiction | Suboxone Talk Zone: A Suboxone Blog

Taking supplements to cure addiction | Suboxone Talk Zone: A Suboxone Blog

Taking supplements to cure addiction | Suboxone Talk Zone: A Suboxone Blog.

Very interesting and thought provoking answer to the eternal question of every addict “how do I get rid of my addiction?”….with an added bit about the foolishness of believing you can “cure” addiction by taking supplements or eating well.

It is, in fact, just like asking if you can “cure” hunger.  You can “calm” your bodies craving for food temporarily by doing many different things (from actually eating, to taking certain medications or drugs, to diverting your attention with another activity for a while)…..but hunger will always come back and your body will always demand food….and an addict’s mind will always be triggered into craving drugs as intensely as a starved person craves food…..and treatments only work while you are using them.  You can not simply “rid” your body of drugs (by using supplements, detox or rehab) and expect to live your life without the uncontrollable desire to use ever returning.

Addiction just doesn’t work that way.  The sooner addicts understand this (and realize that they can still live an  absolutely fulfilling and satisfying life regardless of addiction), the sooner they will be able to make a plan for their lives that includes treating this disease, but isn’t derailed because of it.

  1. February 5, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Actually, Carrie, although we know that is the case with some addicts…I think the addiction treatment community is slowly realizing that medication can go a long way to helping addicts live better, more productive lives. Too many times people have assumed that a person just needs to quit doing drugs and “deal” with the symptoms of their illness. Unfortunately, the symptoms of this illness are a lot for ANYONE to bare, let alone a person who has been battered by years of addiction.
    Look how we treat addicts–we assume that locking them away in prison or mental institutions to keep them “clean” is a better option than giving them relief of their cravings and depression by giving them medication!

    I always compare addiction to OCD…as they are both about obsession. They are both illnesses which show themselves in behaviors that “normal” people can’t understand why the sufferer can’t just STOP doing. You can stop a person afflicted with OCD from washing their hands by tying them up or locking them away–but then they are locked up and still obsessed! How is that treatment? How is that giving relief? We have no problem giving people with OCD medication that relieves those feelings that occupy their every waking moment–and when someone with OCD is able to cut back from 100time a day handwashing to 10 times a day, we consider it success!

    Yet, with addiction the only way society considers them on a path to recovery is if they are able to completely abstain and are willing to become as obsessed with staying clean as they were with staying high.

    It is my opinion that we need to change our focus from one of black and white, clean vs. dirty, GOOD VS BAD—and start thinking in phases of recovery for addiction……and start judging successful treatment not just by how long an addict is able to stop using drugs or how many meetings they can attend in a certain amount of days or how well they can recite and regurgitate information about their recovery– but instead judge recovery by how their quality of life has improved, how much more productive they have become, by how little their illness now interferes with their life—as we do with every other chronic illness! Treatment for chronic conditions is about giving people back as much of their life as possible while still having a disease that is incurable (for the moment)–things might not be perfect with methadone and suboxone–but they aren’t perfect with any other form of treatment for this disease either….and I will chose relief of my symptoms and chance to get back to my life-over struggling to fight cravings every minute and being unable to move beyond my obsession–I will chose the later any day!
    Kristan Hilchey

  2. January 24, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    It is important to note that many addicts replace “heavier” drugs with other drugs. Then the “cure” drug becomes the next addiction concern. This is often the case with suboxone. Help is out there for people but I think that you are right that there has to be a certain mind set as well.

  3. Jon Doe
    November 29, 2009 at 6:05 am

    I never thought I would ever grow up to be a drug addict. If I knew what I was getting myself into at the age of fourteen when I had my first oxycontin, I would have slapped myself. I am twenty six now and have been and out of recovery for five years now. When I was twenty and twenty-one I managed to stay clean on my own for two years before my relapse. It was my first time in recovery and it was like the happiest time of my life. I relapse due to some minor surgery. Being young I really didn’t think I would ever get back to the point of shooting up, but I did. Almost two years ago I was busted for filling fake prescriptions at different pharmacies. Part of my treatment to keep me out of jail was to go to a out patient therapy. The ironic thing is I was relieved when I was arrested, I wanted to be arrsted because I was on the verge of killing myself….Well to make a long story short I started on the Suboxone program at the outpatient therapy drug rehabilitation center… I don’t have a lot of money so I was qualified for patient assistance..I was prescribe three suboxones a day. My life completely changed…The thing is, I didn’t need three suboxones a day..So I only took one and saved the the extra that I had……The doctors didn’t want to wing me down because of my history of drug use, they thought it was to early…But I wanted to come off of it as soon as possible…..Suboxone allowed me to live a successfull life for a while–I bout a car, gor enrolled in school, and worked….. I stayed on patient assistance for a year and then the funding ran out and I couldn’t afford to use suboxone no more…At that point in time I was down to a 2 mgs a day… I winged myself down the whole time I was getting the free medicine…. Then I went to one milligram a day…. I stayed at one milligram a day for about two month until I was completely out of the left over suboxone I had from patient assistance…I knew it was time to come off—I had fifteen months clean and thought I was ready…The only problem was,,,..I don’t care what the doctors and pharmacist say about it being a easy drug to kick…it was hell and I couldn’t handle it….My street behavoir came out of me and I found suboxone on the streets as much as I could because I couldn’t afford the clinic…I continued to stay at one milligram for another two months….Then I tried to kick it again…I still have not been able to get my mind straight…I think suboxone has fucked me up in the head even more than I already was……I had a bad relapse about a month ago and now I don’t know what to do….As soon as I kicked the suboxone, I relapsed……I had to kick it because I couldn’t find any nowhere in the citie where I live….. It is strange because I was at my church/ spiritual comminitie) that I attend every sunday…my old herion dealer happen to show up and I was sick as a dog…If offered me a hit and out of desperation to feel better I took it, after church of course….I know I make my own decisions, I know my dopaine level in my brain is fucked along with my endorphin level…..I now I am worse off than I think I ever was….before I was arrested had quite the needle on my own and only snorted…(which is’nt much better)….Now I am trapped again in the cycle….I don’t want to get high…but I can’t seem to stop….I just want to fell normal again….I can’t go to rehab because I am in school full time, have a beuatifull fiance who doesn’t know I have relapsed..if I go to rehab I will lose everything again,,,,,,including my freedom…I can’t go back to jail,,,I am not cut out for it……..I don’t know what to do and I feel like I am at the breaking point…. Part of me want to go back on Suboxone but I can’t afford it….then again it is just another drug,,,,,it doesn’t really help you…..It is hard for me to speak bad about Suboxone because it helped me so much…but now I understand that it is just as bad as the anthing else—It takes my soul away…….I don’t know what to do…I am confused…I am in pain….. I need help…….I wonder now what would have happened if I stayed on the Suboxone–at this point times my arms are killing me from poking myself andn I have to wear long sleeves……If anyone out there has any suggestions for me…please respond to my email…I am in desperate need of help….I don’t know what to do…….

  4. September 22, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    I am glad you have a successful program Kelly.

    I think most researchers and addiction advocates would take issue with making Suboxone treatment a “temporary tool”, however….because most of us now realize that like most other long term chronic medical illnesses–medication (more often than not) is an important part to restoring quality of life. Just like addiction, treatment is usually something addicts will have to make a part of their lives for a considerable length of time. Thankfully with the move of Suboxone and Subutex into mainstream medical treatment, addicts no longer have to struggle so hard to fight cravings and the physical symptoms of addiction.

    Suffering doesn’t make us stronger….it makes us weaker and miserable. The goal of treatment for any condition (that can’t be cured) is always to improve the patients quality of life. If a return to a good quality of life is our ultimate goal with addiction treatment (as it should be), then forcing a patient off a medication that is helping them live a better life is contraindicated. Suboxone not just a stop gap until patients find “real” recovery…recovery begins the day the patients life starts to get better….

    Of course, if you don’t believe the mountain of scientific evidence that tells us addiction is a medical illness very similar to other chronic life long conditions like epilepsy and bipolar disorder, then I am sure its hard to for you to reconcile the NEED for long term medication. But if you do believe that addiction is a disease very similar to other chronic illnesses, then it shouldn’t be very hard to understand why medication can and is a life long part of some addicts treatment plan. Can you imagine telling someone with Bipolar disorder that they can only have the medication that controls their symptoms for a certain amount of time–that after that they just need to learn how to “cope” with their illnesses symptoms because they can’t be in recovery unless they aren’t taking ANY medications?

    Wither way thank you for stopping by!

  5. September 22, 2009 at 5:28 am

    We have had wonderful success helping people get that precious one year chip, Suboxone can be a instrumental tool
    if it is understood that it is a temporary tool,and reality is not long term use. The psychic change is slow.
    Though oh so worth the wait!
    sober living by the sea , newport beach ca.

  6. May 1, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    It is so very easy to fall into that trap…believing that all you need do is stop using drugs…and the rest will fall in place. The reality is so much more difficult….but the reward at the end makes it worth it all. A life that means more than the next fix or high….that is filled with love, commitment and a thirst for MORE than just the quick and false relief of getting high.

  7. Lou
    May 1, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I agree, addicts will latch onto one thing that will “cure”
    I see that with my son. The very first thing is to want a different life with all your being, then all the tools are easier to work with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

