Home > All Posts > DEATH OF AN INNOCENT

DEATH OF AN INNOCENT

This is a poem a friend of mine posted on the forum section of www.methadonesupport.org, in the Blog section. I really liked it. He’s not the original author of it. He can’t find out who is. So maybe someone reading this will recognize it…

DEATH OF AN INNOCENT

I went to a party, mom, and remembered what you said.

You told me not to drink, mom, so I drank pop instead.

I really felt kind of proud, mom, the way you said I would.

I didn’t drink and drive mom, though my friends said I should.

I remember when the party ended mom, my friends drove out of sight.

I knew I’d done the right thing mom, and I knew that you were right.

I left the party sober mom, to get home in one piece.

I knew it was the way you raised me mom, responsible and sweet.

I started on my way mom, and pulled onto the road.

I guess he didn’t see me mom, he hit me like a load.

As I lay upon the pavement mom, I heard the policeman say,

The kid who hit me had been drinking but I’m the one who’ll pay.

I’m laying here hurt and dying mom, I wish you’d get here soon.

Tell me how this happened mom, and why so many lives are ruined.

There is blood all around me mom, and most of it is mine.

And I think I heard the medic say that I don’t have much time.

I hope you believe me mom, I swear I didn’t drink.

Even though my friends did mom, I guess they didn’t think.

I recognize the driver mom, he was at the same party as I.

He’s the one who drank mom, but it’s me who’s gonna die.

These pains are getting sharper mom, they cut me like a knife.

Why did he have to drink and drive and take away my life?

I see him up and walking mom, it doesn’t seem too fair.

I’m dying in the street mom, and all he can do is cry and stare.

I wish someone had told him mom, not to drink and drive.

Maybe he would have listened mom, and I’d still be alive.

Tell my brother not to cry mom, and tell Daddy to be brave.

And when I get to Heaven, put “Daddy’s Girl” on my grave.

My breaths are getting shorter mom, I’m getting really scared.

I hear you as you’re crying mom, I knew that you’d be here.

I wish I had one answer mom, before I say good bye…

Since I didn’t drink and drive mom, why am I the one to die?

Categories: All Posts
  1. billiesowers
    January 11, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I know!! I printed it out and posted it at my clinic. It’s sad but too true…

  2. January 10, 2009 at 11:49 am

    How horribly SAD!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

