Home > All Posts > The Junky’s Wife, Diary Of A Heroin Addict’s Wife

The Junky’s Wife, Diary Of A Heroin Addict’s Wife

The Junky’s Wife, Diary Of A Heroin Addict’s Wife.

This blog entry is why there are so many Mediacation Assisted Treatment (MAT) patients out there doing well in treatment-who suddenly decide they MUST get off MAT immediately or die. The IRONY is that far more people DIE from trying to prematurely end MAT (after being told to at an NA meeting) than will ever get well because of this advice. Yet it doesn’t stop people from giving this bad advice  over and over again at meetings.

The problem?  NA meetings are supposed to be about RECOVERY, COMMUNITY and SUPPORT.  Instead, many times, you will find people like the man this husband went to….in desperation and need.  Instead of hope and comfort he received un-solicited medical advice about the medication he is taking and a slap in the face about his commitment to getting well.

The medication may be saving his life and making it possible for him to even CONSIDER a life without the symptoms of this illness we call addiction…this is why NA and Medication Assisted Treatment should be considered what  people in the medical profession call “CONTRAINDICATED”.

I hope this wife finds a way to help her husband through this and finds solace herself as well.

  1. January 30, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I am on methadone and it saved my life I never have done better my whole adult life.. Not only do I not sniff Heroin any more but I do no other drug.. I have money and I have a job.. I no longer blow my money on drugs and things of that nature … I have my family back and i do not worry about jail any more…Thanks to my methadone i can have a wife and friend

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

