Home > All Posts > A Few Words Of Encouragement

A Few Words Of Encouragement

I’m the Patient Advocate at my clinic. When I went in to dose yesterday one of the coundelors told me that the clinic has a 30 second slot on our local radio station. They want me to read the script!  I said I would. I am SO nervous!! About a year ago I did an interview at the clinic on one of our local tv station’s, and I thought I would die from nerves!!!

But, I really want to do this. I live in an extremely SMALL community and most everyone here is against the methadone clinic. I know a good majority of the people here, and maybe if they saw how far I’ve come while on methadone they might change the way they think about it. One can hope can’t they??

Here’s what they want me to read:   Don’t let your life be confined by drug or alcohol addiction. Know that for every lock, there is a key.

Regaining control of your life can be accomplished and if you have a problem with addiction, there are real solutions to get you on your way.

This September, celebrate your story and National Alcohol and Drug Addiction Recovery Month with family, friends, and treatment providers. Make a difference – voice your experience.

I guess I’m telling you all this because I need a few words of encouagement, lol! If any of you had a chance to do this, would you??

Categories: All Posts
  1. September 23, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    YOu know Billie, this always bugs me about clinics! If you miss an appointment WATCH OUT. But how many of us have gotten all the way to the clinic at a certain time only to find out our counselor was out sick, or needed to reschedule? UGH!

    Kristan

  2. billiesowers
    September 17, 2008 at 11:56 am

    I just wanted to let you all know that I didn’t do the radio thing. When I got there last Friday they told me it wasn’t going to happen because it was just too expensive. I’m not sure who was suppose to sponsor it, but I guess it cost too much. Bummer. I was actually looking forward to it!! I had read and reread the script 50 times!! And the people at the clinic never even called me. I had to go in and then they told me. Oh well. I only live about 5 miles from the clinic…

  3. August 25, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    This is WONDERFUL Billie…and I am so glad you have the courage to step up and speak out! So many of us stay hidden in the shadows about our addiction and our treatment. It’s unfortunate that the only “voice” methadone treatment usually has is the “voice” of a bad press story or a rumor mill story about a “friend of a friend’s mothers brothers girlfriend’s kid” that was on methadone (and a bunch of illegal drugs) and he “aint doing so well”.

    Everytime we speak up and stand up for ourselves we change the way people think about medication assisted treatment. You are proof that we have nothing to be ashamed of and everything to be proud of!

    Kristan

  4. billiesowers
    August 24, 2008 at 11:35 am

    That is too bad you have no patient advocate at your clinic Kris. Everyone that works at my clinic involves me in most everything a patient advocate should be involved in. I don’t work, so I have a lot of extra time on my hands. If they told me they were doing away with the patient advocate I would be devastated!!

    There’s a few patient’s who think just because I’m the advocate and am doing so well in treatment that, “I Must Be One Of Them,” quote unquote. I actually had a patient say that to me!!! I couldn’t believe it. They think I get special treatment. Could it possibly be that I’ve worked my a** for the last 3 years to get where I am today?!?

    Thank you for commenting, I needed the kind words. September 5 is the day. I let you all know how it goes….

  5. August 24, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I only wish my clinic had a patients advocate. LOL They don’t take a very proactive role in recovery. In fact, I am usually the one to tell them what month is National Recovery Month, I supply them with up to date info regarding Methadone, I bring HCV pamphlets in and even been asked to speak to new counselors who are green when it comes to addiction. So, I would be tickled pink if they ask me to do what your doing. I get nervous when public speaking too but what you have been asked to do is so important to all of us in MMT. I advocate when I see NIMBY and other sorts of prejudice in other states because if it can happen there it can happen where I am. Recently I contacted the Bangor city council and have petitioned so hard for them to oppose Counselor Stones proposal to place decisions in the hands of the city concerning MMT clinics (meaning denying access to them) that most people assumed I lived in Bangor. Truth is I have never been to Maine! LOL However, discrimination is like a plague that must be stopped quickly or it spreads like wildfire. My clinic doesn’t face a lot of discrimination but it is because they hide and don’t want people to know they exist. Not necessarily a good thing. LOL So be proud! Be Confident! And Picture everyone listening in their underwear! Heck, since its radio they probably are! LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

