Home > All Posts > Methadone in Russia

Methadone in Russia

Global Challenges | Use of Methadone To Curb Rising Injection Drug Use, Spread of HIV in Russia Examined at Conference – Kaisernetwork.org.

You may all be wondering “why should I care about methadone treatment FINALLY making it to Russia?  Well, the reason why I am putting up this link is to show everyone how much work is being done ALL OVER THE WORLD to bring methadone treatment to other countries….Methadone treatment is so important the the World Health Organization (WHO) lists Methadone and Suboxone as “Essential Medications”.

So why is it, if WHO, The United Nations (UN) and numerous AIDS prevention organizations KNOW the good methadone treatment does..why is it we are still fighting battles here in the United States to keep methadone treatment alive and well?  Why is it we are allowing morituriums to be placed and limits to be set on this treatment here, in the richest and most sophisticated country in the world?

WHY?  Well because stigma is still rampant and the media and society still continue to demonize drug addicts and methadone recovery….and more importantly because WE, THE ADDICTS, CONTINUE TO ALLOW IT.

Categories: All Posts
  1. armme
    July 23, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Thanks Kris. By the way…I love your website. Your doing a great job.

    When I first started treatment the battle for a clinic in my hometown started right around the same time. When I asked my kid what she thought about people trying to keep the clinic out of town she said “Mom they should want clinics EVERYWHERE if it helps people like it did you”

    I love that kid!

    Kristan

  2. July 23, 2008 at 2:56 am

    Thank You Thank You Thank You! I watched the anti methadone group HARMD march on Washington Video to the tune of “We’re Not Gonna Take It” by Twisted Sister. My son walked past the computer…looked at the people carrying signs saying, “Methadone Takes Lives, Not Saves Lives” & “Methadone Killed My ..whoever” and he said, “Mom, where is the people fighting for Methadone like you?” I was ashamed. I said, “Son, good question. I should have went myself but some people don’t want to rock the boat I guess & I didn’t want to go alone” He said, “Well when they close the clinics for good and outlaw Methadone nobody better be cryin in their soup…LOL Cause it will be too late” Smart Kid Eh?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

